Skip To Content
Maywood Logo


Three Commissions work closely with Community Development Department. They are as follows:

  1. Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals
  2. Maywood Historic Preservation Commission
  3. Environmental Beautification Commission

Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals

The Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals oversees the Village’s Zoning Code and the Village Code. The Village of Maywood Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals generally meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm in the Village Council Chambers, 125 S. 5th Avenue, Maywood.

Maywood Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission holds hearings and reviews applications for local Landmark properties and Certificates of Appropriateness. The HPC also acts as a resource to the general public providing education in the areas of historic and architectural preservation.

The Historic Preservation Commission meets the 1st Thursday of each month at 7:00pm at 125 S. 5th Avenue, in the Council Chamber.

Environmental Beautification Commission

Our vision is for Maywood to be a standout community for engaging in environmental and beautification initiatives among other communities. The Commission meets the 2nd Monday of the month as needed at 7:30pm in the Maywood Council Chambers, 125 S. 5th Avenue.


Traffic & Safety Commission

Serve without compensation consisting of the Chief of Police, who shall be director thereof, and eight (8) additional members, who shall be residents of the Village.  Such members shall be appointed by the President and Board of Trustees voting jointly and shall serve respectively for the following terms: 3 for 1 year, 3 for 2 years and 2 for 3 years.  The successor for each member shall be apointed to serve for a term of 3 years.

Liquor Commission

Consist of the President and Board of Trustees as the Local Liquor Control Commissioner and five (5) other persons as the President shall appoint with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees.  The President's appointments shall serve for a term of one (1) year and shall assist the President in the exercise of the powers and in the performance of his or her duties that are specified in the state statues and/or in this section and chapter.  Persons appointed to the Local Liquor Commission by the President may be reappointed and may serve a maximum of three (3) consecutive 1-year terms. Persons whose membership on the Local Liquor Control Commission ended due to having served three (3) consecutive 1-year terms may not be reappointed until at least one (1) year has elapsed since the conclusion of their membership on the Commission.

Special Events Commission

The Commission shall consist of eighteen (18) Commissioners, one of whom shall be chosen by the Commissioners as their Chairman. The Commissioners shall serve for 2-year terms with nine (9) persons initially appointed for a one (1) year term and nine (9) persons appointed for a 2-year term.

Economic Development Commission

This Commission shall consist of seven (7) members to be appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees.  The members shall be appointed for two (2) year terms.  Members shall continue to hold office until their respective successors are appointed and qualified.

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

The Board of Fire and Pollice Commissioners consist of seven (7) members whose terms of office shall be one (1) year and until their respective successors shall be appointed and qualified as provided by statue.